by Ezra Marcus

5 Seconds of Summer are only months away from releasing their sophomore album, Sounds Good Feels Good. They are keeping anticipation high by sharing a new song called “Jet Black Heart.”

It’s the third brand new track we’ve heard from the group, after “She’s Kinda Hot” and the uptempo “Fly Away.” Unlike these, “Jet Black Heart” stays true to its title with solemn break-up theme.

Related: 5 SOS’s Michael Clifford Opens Up About Mental Health Issues

“‘Cause I’ve got a jet black heart / And there’s a hurricane underneath it, trying to keep us apart,” sing the boys on the anthemic chorus, lyrics straight out of the early ’00s emo playbook.

They drive the point home in the next stanza, which promises a chance to get back together again: ”I write with a poison pen / But these chemicals moving between us are the reasons to start again.”

Listen to the clip below.

soundsgoodfeelsgood Preview New 5 Seconds of Summer Song Jet Black Heart

It turns out the track was co-written by none other than David Hodges, a former member of Evanescence who wrote their smash hit Fallen. Along with Hodges, guitarist Michael Clifford and bassist Calum Hood contributed to writing the song.

Related: Watch a Trailer for 5 SOS’s New Album

In a video yesterday, band-member Ashton Irwin posted a Twitter video claiming that the forthcoming release is their “best work so far.” If you’re inclined to agree with him you can pre-order the album, which comes out October 23rd, here.

Listen Live