"We are pushing ourselves as a band and as songwriters."

By Annie Reuter

Lady Antebellum is gearing up for the high skies.

The country trio announced today (July 18) that their fifth studio album is titled 747, and that it will touch down on Sept. 30.

“We unanimously knew that our album title had to be 747,” said Lady A’s Hillary Scott in a press release. “The track itself has this pushing, driving spirit about it that sums up our attitude right now. We are pushing ourselves as a band and as songwriters…taking ourselves out of our comfort zone and not taking ourselves too seriously. There’s an urgency and an energy to it that we’ve never released before.”

Bandmate Charles Kelley said how anxious the band is to get their new music out.

“To get the reaction we’ve gotten from ‘Bartender’ has only made us more fired up about the rest of these songs,” he said.

Related: Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott Talks “Bartender” and the Power of Positive Songwriting

The 11-song album was written by the band as well as several new songwriters Lady A have never worked with before. Bandmate Dave Haywood said that it was these new songwriters that helped change the band’s approach and challenge them to try new things.

In a previous interview with Radio.com, Scott said the album will gear towards the fun.

“I’m so excited,” Scott explained. “I mean, this is a fun record. And there’s songs on there with depth, that say some things. But for the most part, this is [an album to] ‘put on when [you want to] throw a party and just hang and have fun.’”

Related: Lady Antebellum Enlists Kate Upton, Tony Hale for “Bartender” Video

The band also coproduced the album with Nathan Chapman, who’s best known for his work with Taylor Swift.

“Nathan saw things in the three of us as a band that we hadn’t seen,” Scott told Radio.com. “And [he] gave us the confidence and permission to explore that, to be fun.”


Lady Antebellum album artwork

Lady Antebellum’s 747 track list:

01. Long Stretch of Love (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Josh Kear)
02. Bartender (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Rodney Clawson)
03. Lie With Me (Marc Beeson, Abe Stoklasa)
04. Freestyle (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Shane McAnally)
05. Down South (Stephanie Chapman, Christian Rada, Dave Thomson)
06. One Great Mystery (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Josh Kear)
07. Sounded Good At The Time (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Brad Warren, Brett Warren)
08. She Is (Ben Rector, Jeff Pardo)
09. Damn You Seventeen (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
10. 747 (Gordie Sampson, Caitlyn Smith, Cary Barlowe)
11. Just A Girl (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Shane McAnally)

Listen Live